A Tower with Memory


A single tower, facing the Aegean sea, The White Tower of Thessaloniki dates back to the 15th century. It was used as a guard house as well as a prison for those who were convicted to death. It’s been a part of a Byzantine wall during the Byzantine era and was reconstructed later on.

I took this photo last summer but I wasn’t able to get inside until last January 30, a Sunday.  During winter, the entrance to all museums every Sunday – is free. That’s one of the things I love about Thessaloniki at winter. ^___^

Here is the WT museum website: Visit


Ta leme,
Nessy

7 thoughts on “A Tower with Memory

  1. I spent 7 years of my life in Thessalonikh studying at the univercity. I visited the white tower when a Japaneze friend i met at an island came visited. That and many more i didn’t even knew back then. I was at thessalonikh already for three years.

    It’s a good thing people from abroad coming to your country. They make you move. I do that when i go abroad!

  2. That’s why I’ve been inviting people to visit Thessaloniki so I’d be able to re-visit the places I love around here. 😀 It would be nice to see something new too! 😀

    WHere are you now? if you don’t mind me asking…

  3. Fully agree with you.

    Now, i live in Athens, where i was born and raised. I lived in Thessaloniki since 1997 until 2003.

    Best years of my life

    • @ Akar: wow! That’s great to know! 😀 I’m loitering around the city’s tourist spots since I came here. I love alot of them and thankfully they have a bus now that will make you pay 3 euro only and then you can travel around the city where the tourist spots are. Isn’t that great! I think it’s “simferon”! I never tried it yet, but friends told me, I might try it one day. ^_^ Πώς θα έρθεις στην Θεσσαλονίκη; Πρέπει να συναντήσουμε. Καλημέρα. ^_^

  4. First time i hear about the tourist bus in Thessaloniki. That is good….
    I haven’t been in Thessaloniki for 3 and a half years now. I still have good friends there and i try to get more days than a weekend to visit.
    Hopefully i will make it soon….

  5. Pingback: A Friday Walk | A Second of Life in Greece

Leave a Reply

