Modiano Marketplace at Plateia Aristotelous (Aristotle’s Plaza)


(Last year I wasn’t blogging much so I have a heart this year to post photos from years ago. The set of photos on this entry are all from February 2012.)

One of the places I like to walk in Thessaloniki city is in Aristotelous Plateia. It is a long and straight road that starts from Ignatia , going down to Tzimiski, and much farther down to Nikis, the paraliya (beach) area of Thermaikos Gulf. Now, I will talk about the upper area of this place.

Also simply called as “Aristotelous”, the plaza is never out of people. Especially in the morning where all shops and markets are open. Left and right, the modern and old shopping areas connect. So one busy market day, I walked there on my own trying to find fresh feta from Modiano Marketplace. It is an old Jewish-owned Market that saw the richer days of Thessaloniki. The architect was also a Jew, Eli Modiano. His family were the financier of this project. During the Ottoman period, it was the only main marketplace in Thessaloniki selling mostly meat. This area was also a place for different races interaction: Jew, Muslim, and Greek Orthodox to mingle with each other as businessmen. Each of this race will have distinctive jobs. From meat vendors to shoe makers.

Modiano Market of today’s era is a place where you can find anything. From Chinese-made clothes to traditional Greek ornaments; from traditional souvenirs to modern-decorated ones; from fresh food to processed ones.

MODIANO MARKETPLACE IN FEBRUARY
(It was quite busy that I was afraid I’d get into an accident so I took few quick photos. So here are my finds on that day.)

WANT SOME OLIVES? Available in fresh form, canned, or pickled!

OR LOOKING FOR GREEK SPICES & TEAS? 

RICE, BEANS, and PASTA SHOP

HERE’S WHAT I AM LOOKING FOR! A FETA SHOP 😀

 A STALL WITH GREEK TRADITIONAL SAUSAGE : KHORIATIKO LOUKANIKO

CLOTHES AREA, SOME CHINESE, SOME GREEK TRADITIONAL LINEN ITEMS, AND HOUSE ITEMS, TOO!

ONE OF THE FRUIT SHOPS

BEANS, RICE, CORN STALL

ONE OF THE MEAT SHOPS

INSIDE YOU CAN FIND MORE: VEGETABLE, MEAT, AND HOUSEWARE SHOPS
(I was about to go out. I will pass through this area to go back to Plateia Aristotelous.)

FINALLY I AM OUT! I have my fresh Feta, too! 😀

HUNGRY BIRDS!
These little creatures were the everyday companions of Aristotelous. That’s why this place will never be empty. People also feed them. There’re nearby bakery and pastry shops from where I took this photo.

THE POLICE STATION
If you think you are in trouble with other people, just run to this place. Some funny moments: whenever me and dear husband pass by this building, he would make fun of me by jokingly dragging me inside while whispering “She has no papers, please return her to Philippines!” LOL!!!

A SAD DOG.
I wonder what story will this stray dog tell. It is no secret that Thessaloniki streets are full of stray dogs compare to other EU countries. The Jewish tourists who visited Thessaloniki in 2012 reported that they weren’t satisfied with what they experience here because of several reasons, and one of them was seeing stray dogs everywhere. Then another one, they found the city dirty because of graffiti  and vandals anywhere, everywhere. As you can also see on the pic below. For stray dogs I learned that one of the reasons they became strays was because of irresponsible owners who wouldn’t take time to find an animal shelter or organization if they don’t want to keep their pet any more.

Surely Greeks love dogs, but just like everywhere else, some of them can be pretty irresponsible and heartless. But it’s amazing how a dog like this one could look fat and not thin. Living in the area of Aristotelous benefits them. They will sit all day and eventually there’ll be someone to give them food. I am one of those people. I gave him a piece of biscuit – his morning snack. And I am sure, he’ll have his lunch soon.

Winter February 2012 was one of the best winters I had. And going back and forth to Modiano marketplace is always an experience. Whether I am buying something or not, I pass by to it if something change – of the area or of the people working in each shops. I especially love the souvenir shop where the owner gives me discount once in awhile. 😀

3 thoughts on “Modiano Marketplace at Plateia Aristotelous (Aristotle’s Plaza)

  1. What a great trip that must have been! Lovely photo’s once again Nessy and I would eat myself to death on the olives and feta. 🙂

    • Olives and feta, are no doubt the best products of Greece. I have never enjoyed them before, only while living here. 😀 Thank you for dropping by again. Wishing you a very nice week!

      • Oh, I love olives and feta and I absolutely agree! You are very welcome hon and wishing you a great week as well. 🙂 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

