Bit Bazaar & Walk Around Dikastirion Square


One Winter afternoon, I took a quiet and lazy walk around Bit Bazaar. Located along Eleftheriou Venizeliou road, and a block away from the Ancient Roman Agora-Forum, this place has something in store for vintage enthusiasts. At night, the Bit Bazaar restaurant-cafe area is busy. It is a cool place to hang out for food and drinks so it’s quite popular with students. But the highlight of this place is it’s 80’s and 90’s atmosphere. During daytime, one can see the vintage and antique shops open for business.

OLD POSTCARDS

SOME ANTIQUE, SOME VINTAGE FOR SALE

MY REFLECTION

A VIEW OF THE STREET

AN ANTIQUE & VINTAGE SHOP
I love this shop! Later on, I had a long talk with the owner about the shop’s history.

THE OWNER OF PALAIOPOLEIO

A WINTER WALK

After I left Bit Bazaar, I went back to Dikastirion Square. With a warm coffee on the other hand, I enjoyed the fine winter afternoon walk in the city. Every now and then I stopped to take photos. People were walking with their dogs, children with their parents hand in hand – these were nice scenes for me. Thankfully so far, I haven’t noticed drunk foreigners sitting on the grass or lying on benches. Probably because it’s Winter and they can’t stay outside the cold, hahaha! To no surprise, the pigeons were doing their usual activities.

I thought I should check an old church, but it was close so I took a few photos of its outside interior. This one is famous for its brick-colored architecture.

THE CHURCH OF PANAGIA CHALKEDEON
Also known as “Red church”  it was built in 1028 A.D on an ancient site  (Hephaestus Temple) which was part of the Ancient Roman Agora. It literally means “Copper makers of the Holy Mary”. In Thessaloniki, it is the only surviving Middle Byzantine temple.
For more info: visit their page

*All photos were from 2012 Winter*

6 thoughts on “Bit Bazaar & Walk Around Dikastirion Square

    • Me too, I really like the antiques. I also went inside several shops but I didn’t dare to take photos as I was shy to do so. I could hang around this area for more half a day if I let myself indulge, hahaha!

      • I am crazy about antiques and shops like this as well and yes, funny that we’re so shy to ask people if we can take photo’s. LOL!

      • Oh, the same here hon. The thing is just that some people are not so nice. Once I asked a guy from one of the road stalls if I could take some photo’s of the products he had there and he told me if I want to do that I would have to buy something first. Another one told me that they think I want to take photo’s because I want to “copy” their work. LOL! So, since then I’ve been more afraid than shy to ask. 🙂

  1. Oh, I love antiques and places like this. Such lovely photo’s Nessy. Thanks for sharing this beauty with us. 🙂 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

