Plants Update


Last month I started a few seedling pots of Snapdragon seeds and lilies. And this week, all of them have grown in a way that I didn’t expect. I am happy to see them greener than ever! I think I will need to find bigger pots soon. 😀

A week ago, I started Sunflower and Basil. Again, I bought the seeds from the local flower shop in Filyro and the vendor gave me 6 seedling pots for free!  For the past 3 days, I have been observing that the sunflower seedlings are growing so fast. 😀

Sunflower seedlings, barely a week old!

Unsure if I could grow fresh basil, I planted only 8 seeds in a small recycled plastic pot. The pot used to be a pastry container but I kept it because it looks dainty and I thought, why not use it as a seedling pot? Without holes below, I pinched 3 small holes for water to drain. Now that 2 seeds had sprouted, I think I will plant the remaining seeds next week. 🙂

Why I would love to have basil? Because in Thessaloniki it’s difficult to find them cut and fresh in stores. When I want to make pesto pasta, I had to use dry basil and not fresh ones. The only time you can find fresh basil is when they are sold in open markets or flower shops – while still on their pots. I thought, I should grow my own then, if this is the case. With 0.80€, I can buy a pack of seeds. A small pot of basil is 0.50€. I prefer growing them with my own hands. It gives me the satisfaction that I have tendered and grown something. Don’t you think so? 🙂

One Basil pot. Also barely a week old and yesterday something green sprouted! This morning, there were two of them. This picture was taken yesterday.

Have you grown sunflower and basil before?

4 thoughts on “Plants Update

  1. It sure is wonderful to watch these little seedlings sprout Nessy and I can’t wait to see what they look like when they’ve grown. Great shots hon and thanks for sharing. 🙂 *hugs*

  2. Your plants look so beautiful! Isn’t it so neat to be able to plant a little seed and watch them grow? I love that part! We just planted some Solar Flare Sunflowers outside this weekend and I can’t wait to see what they look like! When they sprout up, I will definitely be taking lots of photographs of them!

    • Thank you! But wait solar flare plants? I do not know about it so I searched online and I am ashamed I didn’t know they’re called solar flares, hahaha. You learn something new everyday! 🙂

      • Oooh, there are a few different kinds of sunflowers and we got those from Burpee, I think. Did you see how beautiful they were? I can’t wait to see them come up!

Leave a Reply

