Lick It!


It’s getting warmer and warmer from where I live and I love it! This is a great time to get in touch with those ice cream maker machines along the road. After our work last Sunday, Mr. Hubby & I passed by at Todaylicious. Todaylicious is a  popular snack house in Thessaloniki. Their selling point? Cheap hot dogs and sandwiches. Coffee, too. And this time ’round, their ice cream maker machine is out for only 0.80€. Who would like to have a bite of that soft and frothy vanilla-chocolate ice cream in cone? 😀

Todaylicious Ice Cream Maker Machine.

The food crew below was very nice. I asked her if I could take her photo while making my ice cream, and she answered with a tired smile – ‘OK.’ I know her feeling. I talked with her, too. I had worked with fast food chains before and it wasn’t easy. You have to keep your head up on things you have to do and if possible be nice and be smiley to customers. This girl had a tough day, but she seems to be fine with it. In my observation, it’s uncommon to find smiley food crews, so it was refreshing to meet this girl. If all Greeks could be like her and be more considerate with customers, it would be very awesome. Because I met alot of grumpy ones in the 4 years of living in Thessaloniki. They make you feel bad buying from them. Really. It’s like they have a sign on their foreheads: “Customers Beware. Don’t even try to screw me up.” But of course, I may be bias here because I haven’t gone to the hundreds of shops in Thessaloniki city.

Finding jobs now in Greece is not easy. So if you can stay longer with one, you’re considered lucky. People these days have been keeping their jobs with decreased wage and no benefits. It’s sad but true to say that young people like the girl in the photo below might end up being a normal employee of a fast food chain for many years. This is the result of the past mistakes of the generation before them. They have put the future of the young ones at stake and in a very difficult situation…

The food server making my ice cream in cone.

Anyway, what is your favorite ice cream flavor? Mine is Vanilla- Chocolate. I have a classic taste, I guess. Then Peach-Mango flavor comes second. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lick It!

  1. Yummy! I would like Vanilla please with a flake in the middle. 😀
    It was nice of the lady to allow you taking her photo Nessy and yes, sad but true it’s seems to be the life for the young people of today. Working in fast food restaurants as waiters, etc. and try to make a living and that is hard work indeed. I know I would die if I have to be on my feet like that all day long. My oldest son is a manager at a restaurant and he starts working at 7:30 in the mornings until closing time but the next day he is off, so he is very blessed where that is concerned, and he has a lovely boss and the working conditions are lovely, so I am very grateful for him but with the economy and the prices of everything here in South Africa he can’t even afford a girlfriend, car or his own place, but I am not complaining..heheheh.
    Thanks for another lovely post hon. 😀 *big hugs*

Leave a Reply

